Home

-Parasha Beshalach-“sent” thoughts/connections/insights Vengeance Trust Salvation and Arms Upraised

*Ezekiel 20;5 Say to them: Thus said the Lord HASHEM/ELOHIM: On the day I chose Israel, I raised My hand [ in oath] for the seed of the House of Jacob and made myself known to them in the land of Egypt, I raised my hand for them, saying, ‘I am HASHEM, your God.’ 6 On that day I raised my hand for them, [swearing] to take them out of the land of Egypt to the Land that I had sought out for them-[ a land that] flows with milk and honey, a splendor for all the lands.

–When our King raises His hand in oath you can count on it and it shall stand! When our King comes into covenant, by definition there is no “doing away'” with or cancelling or supplementing or exchanging. As He stands, His Word shall stand eternal.
Beshalach- sent (Shaliach – emmisary , sent one) This portion we read about the Children of Israel, new babies to a life of freedom and inexperienced in a relationship of obedience to a Faithful and Loving Master. Drawing lines to the Haftarah in Judges and Gospel reading of Mark….drinking from the entire counsel of the living word, I pray you will be as blessed as I have been in this.

*Exodus 13;17 It happened when Pharaoh sent out the people that God did not lead them by way of the land of the Philistines, because it was near, for God said, “Perhaps the people will reconsider when they see a war, and they will return to Egypt. 18 So God turned the people toward the way of the Wilderness to the Sea of Reeds. The Children of Israel were armed when they went up from the land of Egypt. 19 Moses took the bones of Joseph with him, for he had firmly adjured the Children of Israel, saying, “God will surely remember you, and you shall bring up my bones from here with you.”

–There are many reasons we can think about when we ask, why didn’t God just take the Children of Israel the quickest, easiest, most straightforward route to Canaan? We know that they had been permeated by their idolatrous surroundings, perhaps this time was needed to shed these ties. Perhaps it was time we all seem to need to ‘find ourselves’ that God wanted to give the people while they walked onward. The ‘Core Jew’ in the people..the good seed Abraham had planted so long before had been nearly lost to them and hidden by Egypt’s grandeur and seductive cloud. Though they had been victims of harsh slavery for years and were now “free”, they did not know what to “do with themselves”…they still were capable of wondering “has HASHEM taken us out, or has Pharaoh sent us out?” We read that they were armed, my daughter asked “Spiritually armed?” and I had to wonder? With all the hope and faith we claim to have perhaps some time on a round about path, open to God’s molding and stripping of that which He does not find favor in…could do us some good. We must be armed in these last days, yes guns may make us feel safer…stockpiles of food and water, but it is our trust in God that will supply all our needs. And in the end, He is faithful to revivify the dead. In the day we stand before Him will we be able to say, when he looked…he found trust in me?

*Luke 18;6 Then the Lord commented, “Notice what this corrupt judge says. 7 Now won’t God grant justice to His chosen people who cry out to Him day and night? Is He delaying long over them? 8 I tell you that He will judge in their favor, and quickly! But when the Son of Man comes, will he find trust on the earth at all?”

*Exodus 14;3 Pharaoh will say of the Children of Israel, ‘They are imprisoned in the land, the Wilderness has locked them in.’ 4 I shall strengthen the heart of Pharaoh and he will pursue them, and I will be glorified through Pharaoh and his entire army, and Egypt will know that I am HASHEM.” And so they did. 5 It was told to the king of Egypt that the people had fled; and the heart of Pharaoh and his servants became transformed regarding the people, and they said, “What is this that we have done that we sent away Israel from serving us?”

–Someone reported to Pharaoh the people had ‘fled’? An evil report to instigate trouble, uttered to a severely troubled, power hungry dictator who had sacrificed ‘his’ land and people throughout the whole plagues until finally he says in Exodus 12;31…”Rise up, go out from among my people, even you, even the Children of Israel; go and serve HASHEM as you have spoken! 32Take even you sheep and even your cattle, as you have spoken- and go- and bless me, as well!”33 Egypt imposed itself strongly upon the people to hasten to send them out of the land, for they said, “We are all dying!” The mania of this Pharaoh and now all of Egypt is defined even further when we consider the first verse of this Torah portion, “It happened when Pharaoh sent out the people….” We will read on and notice that Egypt is
transformed, their minds and their hearts go from at least some understanding of the great things going on around them, at the very least taking note of the Mighty hand covering this people and punishing them for their part in their captivity….to bloodlust, they will pursue Israel and annihilate them! Transformed hearts fearless now, they as one go out with the entire force of Egypt’s military might. Paul speaks about a different transformation, a positive one…one that when it is pure, is just as complete a turn around!

*Romans 12;2 In other words, do not let yourselves be conformed to the standards of the ‘olam hazeh (this world). Instead, keep letting yourselves be transformed by the renewing of your minds; so that you will know what God wants and will agree that what he wants is good, satisfying and able to succeed. 3 For I am telling every single one of you, through the grace that is given to me, not to have exaggerated ideas about your own importance. Instead, develop a sober estimate of yourself based on the standard which God has given you, namely, trust.

–God has been working on each one of us from the day we were born until this very moment, through every single step on this walk of life He is working with you and on you…to transform you into the vessel He can use to magnify His glory here on earth! Thankfully we can rest knowing that as our whims change with the winds, and our devotion can wane and recede like the tide…God remains Faithful, Unchanging and True.

*Hebrews 13;8 Yeshua the Messiah is the same yesterday, today and forever.

*Exodus 14;6 He harnessed his chariot and attracted his people with him. 7 He took six hundred elite chariots and all the chariots of Egypt, with officers on them all. 8 HASHEM strengthened the heart of Pharaoh, king of Egypt, and he pursued the Children of Israel- and the Children of Israel were going out with an upraised arm. 9 Egypt pursued them and overtook them, encamped at the sea- all the horses and chariots of Pharaoh, and his horseman and army- by Pi-hahiroth before Baal-zephon. 10 Pharaoh approached; the Children of Israel raised their eyes and behold!- Egypt was journeying after them, and they were very frightened; the Children of Israel cried out to HASHEM.

*Mark 6;47 When night came, the boat was out on the lake, and he was himself on land. 48 He saw that they were having difficulty rowing, because the wind was against them; so at around four o’clock in the morning he came toward them, walking on the lake! He meant to come alongside them; 49 but when they saw him walking on the lake they thought it was a ghost and let out a shriek; 50 for they had all seen him and were terrified. However, he spoke to them. “Courage,” he said, “it is I. Stop being afraid!” 51 He got into the boat with them, and the wind ceased. They were completely astounded, 52 for they did not understand about the loaves; on the contrary, their hearts had been made stone like.

*Exodus 14;13 Moses said to the people, “Do not fear! Stand fast and see the salvation of HASHEM that He will perform for you today; for as you have seen Egypt today, you shall not see them ever again! 14 HASHEM shall make war for you, and you shall remain silent.” 15 HASHEM said to Moses, “Why do you cry out to Me? Speak to the Children of Israel and let them journey forth!

–Do not fear! Courage! Stand fast and see the salvation (Yeshua) of the Lord! Stop being afraid! These instructions echo from Genesis through Revelation! They are our Good News and our encouragement! Oh how I love Your Torah! For it has revealed to me Yeshua whom I thought I ‘knew’ of before…in an illumination I could never have dreamed! It is by Yeshua that we have life and is in His Torah that we find the Father’s testimony that he has always been there!! ( *John 5;37 “In addition, the Father Who has sent me has Himself testified on my behalf. But you have not heard His voice or seen His shape;38 moreover, His Word does not stay in you, because you don’t trust the one He sent. 39 You, keep examining the Tanakh because you think that in it you have eternal life. Those very Scriptures bear witness to me, 40 but you won’t come to me in order to have life!”) HASHEM please open all our eyes to see Yeshua in Your Torah…that we may bind ourselves to him more and more! Halleluyah!

*Judges 4;3 The Children of Israel cried out to HASHEM, for [Sisera] had nine hundred chariots, and he oppressed the Children of Israel forcefully for twenty years.

*Exodus 14;21 Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and HASHEM moved the sea with a strong east wind all the night, and He turned the sea to damp land and the water split. 22 The Children of Israel came within the sea on dry land; and the water was a wall for them, on their right and on their left. 23 Egypt pursued and came after them- every horse of Pharaoh, his chariots, and his horsemen- into the midst of the sea. 24 It happened at the morning watch that HASHEM looked down at the camp of Egypt with a pillar of fire and cloud, and He confounded the camp of Egypt. 25 He removed the wheels of their chariots and caused them to drive with difficulty. Egypt said, “I shall flee from before Israel, for HASHEM is waging war for them against Egypt.”

*Judges 4;15 HASHEM panicked Sisera and all the chariots and the entire camp by the edge of the sword before Barak; Sisera dismounted from his chariot and fled on his feet. 16 Barak chased after the chariots and after the camp until Harosheth-goiim; and the entire camp of Sisera fell by the edge of the sword; not even one was left.

–Hear the shirah (song) of Deborah the Prophetess, the song of David the song of Moshe!! In the Hebrew text you can see how these songs are pointed out by God! The letters are arranged in a pattern with three columns, the Song at the Sea of Reeds looks like walls of water with the ‘people’ column passing through them, the Hebrew writing in the songs in Judges and II Samuel are similar, they resemble bricks arranged to be steadfast and sturdy, each one uniquely useful and necessary! Like a special brick He has fashioned us to praise Him in special ways! So write praises to Him, dance praises for Him, paint praises unto Him, cook in praise to Him, run with praise to Him in your heart, sing to HASHEM!

*Judges 5;2 When vengeances are inflicted upon Israel and the people dedicates itself [to God]- bless HASHEM. 3 Hear, O kings; give ear, O princes! I , to HASHEM shall sing; I shall sing praise to HASHEM, God of Israel! 4 HASHEM as you strode from the fields of Edom, the earth quaked and even the heavens trickled; even the clouds dripped water. 5 Mountains melted before HASHEM- as did Sinai- before HASHEM, the God of Israel. …
20 From heaven they fought, the very stars from their orbits did battle with Sisera. 21 Kishon Brook swept them away-the ancient brook, Kishon Brook- but I myself trod vigorously.

*Psalm 40;2 I have greatly hoped for HASHEM; He inclined to me, and heard my cry. 3 He raised me from the pit of raging waters, from the slimy mud. He set my feet upon a rock, firmly establishing my steps. 4 He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn to our God; multitudes shall see and be awed and they shall trust in HASHEM.

*Exodus 15;1… I shall sing to HASHEM for He is exalted above the arrogant, having hurled horse with its rider in to the sea. 2 The might and vengeance of God was salvation for me. This is my God and I will build Him a Sanctuary; the God of my father and I will exalt Him. 3 HASHEM is Master of war- His name is HASHEM. 4 Pharaoh’s chariots and his army He threw into the sea, and the pick of his officers were mired in the mud. 5 Deep waters covered them; they descended in the depths like stone. 6 Your right hand, HASHEM, is glorified with strength; Your right hand HASHEM smashes the enemy. 7 In Your abundant grandeur You shatter Your opponents; You send forth Your wrath, it consumes like straw. 8 A blast from Your nostrils the waters were heaped up; strait as a wall stood the running water, the deep waters congealed in the heart of the sea.

*II Samuel 22; 10 He bent down the heavens and descended, with thick darkness beneath His feet. 11 He mounted a cherub and flew, He appeared on the wings of the wind. 12 He made darkness into shelters all around Him- the darkness of water, the clouds of heaven. 13 From the brilliance that is before Him burned fiery coals. 14 HASHEM thundered from the heavens , the Most High gave forth His voice. 15 He sent arrows forth and scattered them; lightning and He terrified them. 16 The depths of the sea became visible, the foundations of the earth were laid bare, by the rebuke of HASHEM, by the blowing and the breath of His nostrils. 17 He sent from on high and took me, He drew me out of deep waters. 18 He saved me from my mighty foe, and from my enemies, when they overpowered me.

*Deuteronomy 32; 40 For I shall raise My hand to heaven and say, ‘As I live forever, 41 If I sharpen My flashing sword and My hand grasps judgment, I shall return vengeance upon My enemies and upon those who hate Me shall I bring retribution. 42 I shall intoxicate My arrows with blood and My sword shall devour flesh, because of the blood of corpse and captive, because of the earliest depredations of the enemy.'”

–For me personally, ‘currently’, in this flesh continually failing and being transformed.. the most actualized, realized, revealed and treasured attributes of my King and the Messiah Yeshua are that of their Mercifulness, Kindness, Compassion, Patience, Ahavah (covenantal love), Forgiveness. The attributes of the Lamb, pure and innocent, silently lead to the slaughter….the Lamb has already come! When Messiah returns will it not be a return for Glory and restoration of all things? But how does a King ‘clean up’ and restore a kingdom invaded by enemies who have desecrated His people and His property? How does a King establish His Perfect order in a world where His Name has been disregarded and His dominion negated by sin and terror? In that day I pray we will have been strengthened enough to not only embrace the attributes of the Conquering King, but to fight proudly and bravely in His legions for righteousness and restoration. I embrace the attributes of the King coming with the sword, Master of war and pray for mercy on that day… Vengeance, Retribution, Rebuke, Rage, Wrath, Justice…..Salvation. [Only three places in the Tanakh is this phrase found: Exodus 15;2 The might and vengeance of God was salvation for me. Isaiah 12;2 Behold, God is my salvation; I shall trust and not fear. For God is my might and my praise-HASHEM!-and He is a salvation for me.’ Psalm 118;14 God is my might and my praise, and He was a salvation for me.] Come quickly Yeshua ha Mashiach our Salvation!

*Song of Songs 8; 3 Despite my laments in exile, His left hand supports my head and His right hand embraces me in support. 4 I adjure you, O nations who are destined to ascend to Jerusalem, if you dare provoke God to hate me or disturb His love for me while He still desires it. 5 How worthy she is ascending from the wilderness bearing the Torah and His Presence, clinging to her Beloved! Under Sinai suspended above me, there I roused Your love, there was Your people born; a mother to other nations, there she endured the travail of her birth. 6 For the sake of my love, place me like a seal on Your heart, like a seal to dedicate Your strength for me, for strong till death is my love; though their zeal for vengeance is hard as the grave, its flashes are flashes of fire, the flame of God. 7 Many waters of heathen tribulation cannot extinguish the fire of this love, nor rivers of royal seduction or torture wash it away.

*Revelation 15;1 Then I saw another sign in heaven, a great and wonderful one- seven angels with the seven plagues that are the final ones; because of them, God’s fury is finished. 2 I saw what looked like a sea of glass mixed with fire. Those defeating the beast, its image and the number of its name were standing by the sea of glass, holding harps which God had given them. 3 They were singing the song of Moshe, the servant of God, and the song of the Lamb: “Great and wonderful are the things you have done, ADONAI, God of heaven’s armies! Just and true are Your ways, King of the nations! 4 ADONAI, who will not fear and glorify Your name? because You alone are holy. All nations will come and worship before You, for Your righteous deeds have been revealed.”

–The song of Moshe and the song of the Lamb, is this ONE song? The same song sung at the Sea of Reeds.
A song about God, Master of Legions, about glory and fear of the King who exacts vengeance from His foes.

*Exodus 15;22 Moses caused Israel to journey from the Sea of Reeds and they went out to the Wilderness of Shur; they went a three day period in the Wilderness, but they did not find water.

*Judges 4;6 She sent and summoned Barak son of Abinoam of Kedesh-naphtali and said to him, “Behold, HASHEM, the God of Israel, has commanded, ‘Go and convince [the people to go] toward Mount Tabor, and take with you ten thousand men from the children of Naphtali and from the children of Zebulun! 7 I will draw toward you- to Kishon Brook- Sisera, the general of Jabin’s army, with his chariot and his multitude; and I shall deliver him into your hand.'”

–The Exodus text saying Moses “caused” the people to journey forth from the Sea of Reeds, in the Hebrew denotes…that he had to get them going, he had to push them to leave from there. To keep moving toward the mountain, the goal (Mount Sinai and the giving of the Torah.) Likewise in the Harftarah in Judges God commands that Barak “convince” the people to go out toward the mountain (Mount Tabor and to victory over their oppressors).

I can’t help but think about Ezra and king Artaxerxes letter to the scattered Jews, permitting them to go to Jersusalem and build the Temple of HASHEM. Can you imagine such news! Not only permission but the financial means to make it happen. Yet though there must have been much joy and delight in many homes, rushing to leave…many who had become comfortable in their assimilation and maybe cold even to the notion of the Temple being relevant or possible in their lives, did not move toward the Holy City to rebuild their heritage and connection to God most High. They stayed and even this letter was not enough to “cause” or “convince” them to go ‘home’. We see it happening to this very day, I pray that all Gods Children will return to their Land and to their God and to their service to HASHEM, soon in our days.

*Ezra 7;12 Artaxerxes, king of kings, to Ezra the Kohen, scholar of the Law of the God of heaven and master of it, on this date:13 A decree is hereby issued by me that anyone in my kingdom among the people of Israel and their Kohanim and Levites who volunteers to journey to Jerusalem with you may go. 14 Because you have been dispatched by the king and his seven counselors to investigate Judah and Jerusalem concerning the Torah of your God, which is in your hand, 15 and to transport the silver and gold that the king and his counselors have contributed to the God of Israel, whose dwelling place is in Jerusalem. ….
27″Blessed is HASHEM, God of our forefathers, Who has put such [thoughts] in the heart of the king, to glorify the Temple of HASHEM that is in Jerusalem, 28 Who extended kindness to me from before the king and his counselors and all of the king’s powerful officers! ” I then strengthened myself, in accordance with whatever the hand of HASHEM, my God, gave me the ability to do and I assembled leaders from Israel to ascend with me.

*Exodus 15;23 They came to Marah, but they could not drink the waters of Marah because they were bitter; therefore they named it Marah. 24 The people complained against Moses, saying, “What shall we drink?” 25 He cried out to HASHEM, and HASHEM showed him a tree; he threw it into the water and the water became sweet. There He established for [the nation] a decree and an ordinance, and there He tested it. 26 He said, “If you hearken diligently to the voice of HASHEM, your God, and do what is just in His eyes, give ear to His commandments and observe all His decrees, then any of the diseases that I placed in Egypt, I will not bring upon you, for I am HASHEM, your Healer.”

–My heart melts when I note that even though at this point they are complaining and Moshe cries out to God, He does not reprimand them at this point. Why? He is a loving Father even now, He knows the plight of His children, He knows their immaturity and He understands the fears of their hearts. Think of it. The first plague in Egypt was upon the water. Could it be possible they feared He might do so to them? So their Abba reassures them. He is their healer. He knows what they have been through and He is right here with them. Then He shows Moshe the tree (Yeshua is likened to being the Living Word, the Living Torah…the Tree of life to those who grasp it. Water is blessings, water is the Word…the natural water that they came upon was bitter to them, until the Word, the Tree, Yeshua touched it and turned it sweet and they drew from it! * Isaiah 12;3 You can draw water with joy from the springs of salvation.)

*Isaiah 41;17 The poor and destitute will beg for water but there is none, their tongue withers from thirst; I, HASHEM, will answer them; the God of Israel, I will not forsake them. 18 I will open up rivers upon the hilltops and springs in the midst of valleys; I will turn the desert into a pond of water and a parched land into sources of water.19 In the wilderness I will set cedar, acacia, myrtle and pine tree; I will place cypress, fir and box tree together in a desert., 20 so that they should see and know and consider and understand together that the hand of HASHEM has done this, and the Holy One of Israel has brought it about.

*Exodus 16;2 The entire assembly of the Children of Israel complained against Moses and Aaron in the Wilderness. 3 The children of Israel said to them, “If only we had died by the hand of HASHEM in the land of Egypt, as we sat by the pot of meat, when we ate bread to satiety, for you have taken us out into this Wilderness to kill this entire congregation by famine.”

–What could be a bigger curse to the Father! Now my heart aches to recall His anticipation and joy to deliver the people whom He had suffered with in Egypt….His reassurance as their Healer when He provided the sweet water, now His children are accusing their Abba of the most horrendous intention…which had not even entered His mind. So far we have two ‘complained’s in the text and it has only been one month since the exodus.

*Exodus 16;8 and Moses said, “When, in the evening, HASHEM gives you meat to eat and bread to satiety in the morning, as HASHEM hears your complaints that you complain against Him- for what are we?- not against us are your complaints, but against HASHEM!”
9…’Approach the presence of HASHEM, for He has heard your complaints.’
12 “I have heard the complaints of the Children of Israel.

–From Exodus 15;24-16;12 (sixteen verses) there are nine mentions of complaints. Do you think God is trying to tell us something here? When we are complaining about our lives or something/someone in our lives…even about ourselves and things we “don’t like”, we are really complaining about God and what He has given to us. All of this is from Him, by Him and through Him…if you really want to magnify God in your life….praise Him in all things, good and ‘bad’. When you feel like voicing a complaint, sing a Shirah (song) or a Psalm to Him instead…banishing darkness and letting His goodness shine!

*Philippians 2;14 Do everything without complaining or arguing, 15 so that you will be blameless and pure children of God, without defect in the midst of a twisted and perverted generation, among whom you shine like stars in the sky, 16 as you hold on to the Word of Life. If you do this, I will be able to boast, when the Day of the Messiah comes, that I did not run or toil for nothing.

–The double loaves of Challah set on our Sabbath tables are a remembrance of the double portion of Manna (the food from heaven God rained down on the camp of Israel in the Wilderness) the people collected on the sixth day. In Mark, Yeshua feeds the people the heavenly bread of life…the Word of God and then he blesses the five loaves and two fish and feeds the five thousand to their fill!

*Mark 6;34 When Yeshua came ashore, he saw a huge crowd. Filled with compassion for them, because they were like sheep without a shepherd, he began teaching them many things. 35 By this time it was getting late. The talmidim came to him and said, “This is a remote place, and it’s getting late. 36 Send the people away, so that they can go buy food for themselves in the farms and towns around here.” 37 But he answered them, “Give them something to eat, yourselves!” They replied, “We are to go and spend thousands on bread, and give it to them to eat?” 38 He asked them, “How many loaves do you have? Go and check. ” When they had found out, they said, “Five. And two fish.” 39 Then he ordered the people to sit down in groups on the green grass. 40 They sat down in groups of fifty of a hundred. 41 Then he took the five loaves and the two fish, and, looking up toward heaven, made a b’rakhah (blessing). Next he broke up the loaves and began giving then to the talmidim to distribute. He also divided up the two fish among them all. 42 They all ate as much as they wanted, 43 and they took up twelve baskets full of the broken pieces of fish. 44 Those who are the loaves numbered five thousand men.

*Exodus 16;22 It happened on the sixth day that they gathered a double portion of food, two omers for each; and all the princes of the assembly came and told Moses. 23 He said to them, “This is what HASHEM has spoken; tomorrow is a rest day, a holy Sabbath to HASHEM. Bake what you wish to bake and cook what you wish to cook; and whatever is left over, put away for yourselves as a safekeeping until the morning. 25 Moses said, “Eat it today, for today is a Sabbath for HASHEM; today you shall not find in the field. 26 Six days you shall gather it, but the seventh day is a Sabbath, on it there will be none.
29 See that HASHEM has given you the Sabbath; that is why He gives you on the sixth day a two-day portion of bread. Let every man remain in his place; let no man leave his place on the seventh day.” 30 The people rested on the seventh day. 31The House of Israel called it manna, It was like coriander seed, it was white, and it tasted like a cake fried in honey.

–The Sabbath is the most coveted of days, I long to have it linger and am changed when it has departed…taking its rest and delight, the lessons reveal in it…into my week, until JOY! It arrives again, a time appointed, set apart and holy. Holy to our household, holy to the Jews….HOLY TO HASHEM.
It is a Sabbath for whom? HASHEM. HASHEM __________ Sabbath to us? Laid upon our shoulders to cause us to stumble? Burdened us with the commandment of the Sabbath and endorsed all the manmade fence laws that surround it now? I read that our King “gave” us the Sabbath, like a gift! And this is what the Sabbath is, a time set apart to worship and to study. A time prepared for and delighted in. A time of family. study, covenantal remembrances, revelation and rest! A declaration that “I believe He has created all things in six days and on the seventh He rested!”

*Genesis 2;1 This the heaven and the earth were finished, and all their array. 2 By the seventh day God completed His work which He had done. 3 God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it because on it He abstained from all His work which God created to make.

*Deuteronomy 6;16 You shall not test HASHEM, your God, as you tested Him at Massah. 17 You shall surely observe the commandments of HASHEM, your God , and His testimonies and His decrees that He commanded you. 18 You shall do what is fair and good in the eyes of HASHEM, so that it will be good for you, and you shall come to possess the good Land that HASHEM swore to your forefathers, 19 to thrust away all your enemies from before you, as HASHEM spoke.

*Exodus 17;2 The people contended with Moses and they said, “Give us water that we may drink!” Moses said to them, “Why do you contend with me? Why do you test HASHEM?” 3 The people thirsted there for water, and the people complained against Moses, and it said, “Why is this that you have brought us up from Egypt to kill me and my children and my livestock through thirst?”

–At Marah the complaint was “What shall we drink?” Can you see how the evil tongue has escalated? Now its not even a question or concern voiced, its a demand. At Marah God tested Israel, here they are testing God. ( *Matthew 4;7 Yeshua replied to him (the adversary), “But it also says, ‘Do not put ADONAI your God to the test.” ) After Marah they stab God in the heart so to speak accusing Him of taking them out of Egypt to the Wilderness to kill them by famine (note-one effect of the plagues in Egypt was all the plant life and trees were destroyed and the livestock died as well.) Here they up the insult by accusing God of planning to kill themselves and their livestock and their children by thirst. ( It is interesting to see how these accusations relate to the plagues, the Midrash says that there was a greater influence on the Hebrew by the mixed multitude who had left Egypt with them then we can ever know. At Marah it seems quite specific the text says “the Children of Israel complained” here it says “the people”.Something to take note of and think about.)
–Whatever the case we see children being used as a ‘bargaining chip’ of sorts….to entice sympathy or to force the Hand? It is very unfortunate that today we see children being fed lies, being trained to be mercenaries and martyrs and being placed in positions endangering their own lives and inciting violence. Preteen Palestinian girls, prompted by parents with video cameras, instructed to spit at, physically ‘threaten’, scream and curse at Israeli Defense Force soldiers in order to entice a response is just one “small” example of sad, unfair and inappropriate manipulation of children who are no longer able to have the “innocence” of youth in a life sculpted in terror and death.

*Exodus 17;5 HASHEM said to Moses, “Pass before the people and take with you some of the elders of Israel; and in your hand take the staff with which you struck the River, and go. 6 Behold!- I shall stand before you by the rock in Horeb; you shall strike the rock and water will come forth from it and the people will drink.” Moses did so in the sight of the elders of Israel. 7 He called the place Massah U’Meribah, because of their test of HASHEM, saying, “Is HASHEM among us or not?”

–God responds without anger or even voicing His ‘pain’, rather with a solution for Moses and for the people. The elders (which would mean the Leaders rather than the elderly) go with Moses and the physical tool with which all the miracles in Egypt were indicated…the staff to the rock from which life giving water will flow. He strikes it and the thirst is quenched. (Massah U’ Meribah literally means Test and Contention). We will learn more about this rock and the importance of afflicting it, striking it.

*Numbers 24;20 He (Balaam) saw Amalek and declaimed his parable and said: “Amalek is the first among nations, but its end will be eternal destruction.

*Judges 5;13 Now the survivor dominates the mightiest of the people; HASHEM has given me dominion over the strong ones. 14 From Ephriam, whose root [fought] against Amalek; after you came Benjamin with your peoples.

*Exodus 17; 8 Amalek came and battled Israel at Rephidim. 9 Moses said to Joshua, “Choose people for us to go do battle with Amalek; tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the staff of God in my hand.” 10 Joshua did as Moses said to him, to so battle with Amalek; and Moses, Aaron and Hur ascended to the top of the hill.

*Psalm 133;1…Behold, how good and pleasant is the dwelling of brothers, moreover, in unity. 2 Like the precious oil upon the head running down upon the beard, the beard of Aaron, running down over his garments, 3 so the dew of Hermon descends upon the mountains of Zion, for there HASHEM has commanded the blessing. May there be life forever!

—The Hebrew word for brothers is (Aleph- Aaron, Hey-Hurr, Yud-Yohoshua, Mem- Moshe). So we see united as one these brothers go forth to do to battle, each with their own assignment to save Israel. (Egypt was united, as one they went forward to destroy Israel…once they sought to kill the Messiah, the redeemer of Israel so they cast the babies into the depths of the river. In the depths of the sea they received in full the measure of their hatred, their own lives as payment.)

*Exodus17; 11 It happened that when Moses raised his hand Israel was stronger, and when he lowered his hand Amalek was stronger. 12 Moses’ hands grew heavy, so they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it, and Aaron and Hur supported his hands, one on one side and one on that side, and he remained with his hands in faithful prayer until sunset.

*Luke 23;32 Two other men, both criminals, were led out to be executed with him. 33 When they came to the place called The Skull, they nailed him to a stake; and they nailed the criminals to stakes, one on the right and one on the left. 34 Yeshua said, “Father forgive them; they don’t understand what they are doing.”

–It wasn’t just for show that Moshe had to keep his hands raised, it was a foreshadowing…and he was not just idly sitting and waiting for God to save his people, he was in faithful prayer the whole time. So too King Yeshua the Messiah had his hands raised to save Israel, and he prayed in faithful prayer for mercy on us all.

*John 19; 19 Pilate also had a notice written and posted on the stake; it read, YESHUA FROM NATZERET THE KING OF THE JEWS 20 Many Judeans read this notice, because the place where Yeshua was put on the stake was close to the city; and it had been written in Hebrew, in Latin and in Greek. 21 The Judeans’ head cohanim therefore said to Pilate, “Don’t write, ‘The King of the Jews,’ but ‘He said, “I am King of the Jews.”‘” 22 Pilate answered, “What I have written, I have written.”

*Exodus 17;14 HASHEM said to Moses, “Write this as a remembrance in the Book and recite it in the ears of Joshua, that I shall surely erase the memory of Amalek from under the heavens.” 15 Moses built and altar and called its name “HASHEM is My Miracle”; 16 and he said, “For the hand is on the throne of God: HASHEM maintains a war against Amalek, from generation to generation.

–This is the first mention of the Book (of the covenant), there will be more. It is important to note that it is already important to God that Moshe’s ‘successor’ Joshua be trained immediately in God’s remembrances, instructions, ordinances, commands, and laws. From Cain and Abel to Moshe we should notice that altars and offerings to God was clearly the known and acceptable way to render honor, thanks and worship to God. Offering (Korban) means to draw near in the Hebrew. What a beautiful thing as we see the maturing Moshe render honor to the King declaring He is my Miracle! HASHEM saves Israel from an enemy who attacked them unprovoked while they were journeying and weak. Weak spiritually, emotionally and even physically still healing. This is why God swears on His throne this war is eternal. Imagine surviving the Holocaust, imagine finally being liberated from a concentration camp at the end of WWII, imagine having no where to go and being turned away and denied a safe haven. Imagine after agonizing months of being disposed making an exodus of sorts from the nations to Canaan. In May 1948, Israel became an independent state after Israel was recognized by the United Nations as a country in its own right within the Middle East. If relations in pre-war Palestine had been fraught with difficulties, these difficulties paled into insignificance after Israel became a state in its own right. Immediately on being granted its independence, Israel was attacked by a number of Arab nations.
If this rings as similar to our Torah portion to you it should, we will learn more about Amalek as we go on.

*Proverbs 3;1 My child, do not forget My Torah, and let your heart guard My commandments, 2 for they add to you length of days and years of life and peace. 3 Kindness and truth will not forsake you. Bind them upon your neck; inscribe them on the tablet of your heart, 4 and you will find favor and goodly wisdom in the eyes of God and man. 5 Trust in HASHEM with all your heart and do not rely on your own understanding. 6 In all your ways know Him, and He will smooth your paths.

–God splits the sea and the Children of Israel cross in safety, the Egyptians are ‘sunk’ and Israel sing a song foreshadowing Revelation and the last day of redemption. God provides water once when the Tree causes bitterness to become sweet. God rains down bread from heaven and feeds the people quail. He gives them a special gift, the Sabbath! God gives life giving water from the Rock that will follow and sustain Israel in their Wilderness journeying. Finally He saves them from Amalek who sought to stomp them while they were “down”. In the next Torah portion we read about the people reaching the goal of the exodus, the beginning of a new life…they have been water baptized- Immersed- Mikvah-ed in the Sea of Reeds and are walking forward with the Memra (Word or Wisdom- Yeshua) which is the Pillar of Fire and Cloud….leading them! This is why God has been smoothing their path thus far. Healing their woes and wounds, raining down food from heaven, bringing forth water from the Rock…to bring them to Sinai and to give them the Torah, the commandments- the commitments- the Words. Eternal. It is on the tablets of our hearts He has written It, just as if we belong to Him…His name is written upon us. It can take some time on this journey but in time these Words will be illuminated and we will all see! He longs for our trust and we wait for him!

*Revelation 19;11 Next I saw heaven opened, and there before me was a white horse. Sitting on it was the one called Faithful and True, and it is in righteousness that he passes judgment and goes to battle. 12 His eyes are like a fiery flame, and on his head were many royal crowns. And he had a name written which no one knew but himself. 13 He was wearing a robe soaked in blood, and the name by which he is called is, “THE WORD OF GOD.” 14 The armies of heaven, clothed in fine linen, white and pure, were following him on white horses. 15 And out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations- “He will rule them with a staff of iron.” It is he who treads the winepress from which flows the wine of the furious rage of ADONAI, God of heaven’s armies. 16 And on his robe and on his thigh he has a name written: KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.

–Baruch ata ADONAI Eloheinu Melech HaOlam! Blessed are you Lord our God Creator and King of the universe, You have blessed us with eternal life planted among us, Blessed are You gracious giver of the Torah.
I humbly ask that you open our eyes in Your word, open our ears to each other and plant us together as brothers unified for one purpose…to glorify You in this world, to magnify Your goodness and the trustworthy value of your Word, and to exalt Yeshua the Lamb and coming conquering King!! In our lives, in our words, in our thoughts and in our deeds. In Yeshua’s name I ask that you remove from us sorrow and groan and reign over us! You HASHEM alone with Kindness and compassion.
Amein.

Resources:
Stone Edition Tanach- Artscroll
Complete Jewish Bible- David H. Stern
Torah Club volume 2 Audio Magazine Beshalach
http://www.elshaddaiministries.us
http://www.chabad.org
http://www.torahresource.com
http://www.wisdomintorah.com

Leave a Reply

